• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • DadSmith

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    1   0   0
    Oct 21, 2018
    Ripley County

"A public elementary or secondary school shall display in a conspicuous place in each classroom of the school a durable poster or framed copy of the Ten Commandments,"

Amishman44

Master
    Rating - 98.2%
    54   1   0
    Dec 30, 2009
    Woodburn
    I was a teacher in Georgia when they removed the 10 Commandments from the walls inside the school and had a sudden rash of thefts...student items, teacher items, etc.
    At the next teacher in-service day, they had several people speak on how to 'secure' personal and professional items so as to avoid or reduce the number of thefts in the school...
    One of the 'suggestions' by a fellow teacher was, "Why don't we put signs on the walls that say, 'DO NOT STEAL!' I raised a hand and responded with, "We HAD a sign that said that...but it got taken down!"
    Needless to say the discussion suddenly became very heated...with a lot of 'discussion' on both sides...some of it simultaneously!!! I, wisely, stayed quiet and, a few minutes later, exited the room and headed down to the Athletic Training Center to start getting athletes ready for their afternoon practices! Note: I wasn't particularly known for being 'P-C' down there....

KLB

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    5   0   0
    Sep 12, 2011
    Porter County
    You guys really can't see why making it mandatory to display a religious symbol in every school would be problematic? It should be OK for a school to choose to display them. It is not OK for the government to mandate it.

I'm sure you would all be fine if an Islamic equivalent were the one that was required.

cg21

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    26   0   0
    May 5, 2012