Is there a "proper" spot on the top rail for a Red-Dot???

The #1 community for Gun Owners in Indiana

Member Benefits:

• Fewer Ads!
  • Discuss all aspects of firearm ownership
  • Discuss anti-gun legislation
  • Buy, sell, and trade in the classified section
  • Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • SEIndSAM

Grandmaster
    Site Supporter
    Rating - 100%
    48   0   0
    May 14, 2011
    Ripley County
    I am a complete novice to red-dots. A couple of weeks ago Midway had a killer deal on some Bushnel Red-Dots, so I bought one. This gave me the excuse to build another AR-15.:rockwoot:

I have a ton of experience with AR-15's, but have always used a scope or the stock iron sights. This is my 1st red-dot. I have seen a bunch of pics of AR's fitted with Red-Dots and it seems they are placed all over the top rail. I have seen them placed in the middle of the rail, all the way to the front of the rail and at all stations in between.

How do you find the "proper place" to fit your red-dot?

Thanks in advance to the collective wisdom of INGO.....

Edit-I am referring to the rail attached to the upper receiver.

Last edited:

raptrbreth

Sharpshooter
    Rating - 100%
    9   0   0
    Feb 20, 2013
    New Palestine
    I am a novice at the red dots also. I have read, from a lot of 'pros', that it should be placed as far forward as possible. I am not sure if that means to the end of the upper receiver or to the end of a piciatinny rail, if attached.

KJQ6945

Grandmaster
    Site Supporter
    Rating - 100%
    4   0   0
    Aug 5, 2012
    Texas