• ...and so much more!
  • wrgould3

Plinker
    Site Supporter
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Sep 15, 2022
    Camby
    In 20 years of private gun transactions, I've never encountered the situation that has popped up. I have a private gun transaction possibility where the purchaser shares that he is a resident of Indiana but doesn't have an IN license as he is active military. I believe he has a TN license. Question: Is it permissible to sell to someone with this framework (not that I intend to, just curious if active miliary somehow bypasses everything I thought I knew about private in-state gun transactions)?

Bleachey

Plinker
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Oct 8, 2019
    Petersburg
    The whole time I was in the military I maintained my Indiana Drivers License and residency, even though I technically lived in other places. I did register vehicles in California as I guess I was a resident of both states.

actaeon277

Grandmaster
    Site Supporter
    Rating - 100%
    4   0   0
    Nov 20, 2011
    Merrillville
    I don't know if this helps

What documentation does a member of the military on active duty need to present to acquire a firearm?​

An active duty military member may establish residency by presenting permanent change of station (PCS) orders and a valid military photo identification card (see ATF Ruling 2001-5). The PCS orders may be either paper or electronic, as stated in the Form 4473 instructions for item 26c, “Licensees may accept electronic PCS orders to establish residency.”
    Spouses and other dependents of an active duty military member may not claim residency using PCS orders, as 18 U.S.C. 921(b) applies only to members of the Armed Forces.