• Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Rating - 100%
    11   0   0
    Dec 14, 2011
    ECI
    Okay like the title says I am looking to get my wife her first gun. I am looking to spend in the $300 range but I want to make sure it's a sure fire RELIABLE weapon so if I need to spend a little more I will. My big thing is I don't know what caliber to really look at for her as a complete beginner. I want som,ething that she will enjoy shooting so she will practice but also affordable to shoot. Also it will need to be her carry weapon for self defense as well so something that has enough punch to stop an attacker. She has very small hands and not a real strong grip. Please help me figure out what to be looking at for her. I hope to take her this week to check some out and hold some to see what fits her hand and that feel good to her.

sgreen3

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    51   0   0
    Jan 19, 2011
    Scottsburg,In
    A nice walther P22 would be a good place to start, they are a very quality handgun no recoil and cheap to practice with. The best thing would be to let her shoot a few different things to see what she likes best. I would advise not to buy one of the pocket pistols without leting her try one first, most of them tend to pack a little bit of a punch for their size. My GF does not like shooting my TCP in .380 because of the recoil. Main thing here make sure she likes it and wants it and if you can let her shoot it before you buy it.

Rating - 100%
    11   0   0
    Dec 14, 2011
    ECI