• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Electron don

Plinker
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    May 11, 2008
    Evansville
    I saw more coyotes while in the deer stand this year than ever before. I'm in Southern Indiana near Evansville. I've always been told by the landowners where I hunt to shoot them whenever I can. In terms of land management for deer hunting, should I be shooting them? If so, what can I do with them? It doesn't feel right to just shoot them and let them lie. Is the pelt of any value?

42769vette

Grandmaster
    Industry Partner
    Rating - 100%
    52   0   0
    Oct 6, 2008
    south of richmond in
    coyote pelts are not worth the trouble im like you and i hate to kill anything and leave it lay but im a farmer and we have lost calves to coyotes in the past so in my mind i have to be a good shepard to my heard and the land owner probably wants you to be the same but ive learned a coyote carcass is not worthless i put it in the field off my porch as shoot coyotes off the carcass the most ive ever got off one "set" is 3 i kill the second and just leave it on the first

NEOCON

Sharpshooter
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Mar 21, 2008
    Warrick county
    I shoot everyone I see in fact I call them in and then kill them. Great fun. As for what to do with the dead coyote, take a picture.
    HPIM0583.jpg

Electron don

Plinker
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    May 11, 2008
    Evansville
    Coyotes at the airport.

I have heard that coyotes are moving into the urban environment. A friend of mine is an Air Traffic Controller at EVV airport. He shared with me that they had had problems with them in the past and were concerned that they would run out and collide with landing planes. They finally called in someone to come in and shoot them a few years back. Thirty five were shot. I wonder how much paperwork does it take to be allowed out on a FAA runway with a high powered rifle?

hunter46140

Marksman