• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • illini40

Sharpshooter
    Rating - 100%
    1   0   0
    Nov 28, 2010
    Hello,
    I got the chance to get out and coyote hunt with my father in law and brother in law yesterday. We made four stands, but were unsuccessful.

How do you determine what calls or sequence of calls to use (specifically electronic calls)? I found myself questioning what sounds to hit, how often, and in what sequence. I'm a complete newbie so curious for advice on electronic calling.

Gear:
    - Primos Turobo Dogg electronic call
    - DPMS AR-15 w/3-9x scope and bipod (me)
    - Winchester X3 12 gauge (father in law)
    - Mossberg 500 20 gauge (brother in law - he's 12 and just wanted to shoot his gun)

Sounds used on the call:
    - First stand: rabbit in distress for a while, then coyote challenge call worked in with a young response howls
    - Second stand: same as above. Worked the rabbit off and on for maybe 5-8 minutes and then went to the coyotes
    - Third stand: rodent in distress, then rabbit in distress, and then the coyote challenge call with some young response howls
    - Fourth stand: started with the rabbit in distress for a couple of times (long and loud), then went to a female invitation howls, worked in some coyote challenge howls

Any advice or care to share your thoughts/strategy?

Coolhuntermike

Plinker
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Mar 1, 2013
    Goshen
    I have had alot of success at night with just a continuous cottontail distress call from a old Lehman cassette tape i think when you start mixing in all that other stuff the coyotes know somethings up. thats just what i have observed im sure its up for disagreement.

Dodgehunter84

Plinker
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Jan 18, 2012
    Right now they are pairing up to mate and this time of year I always have better luck with coyote vocal and mating calls than anything.

BoilerWes

Expert
    Rating - 100%
    15   0   0