• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Richwon4

Sharpshooter
    Rating - 100%
    1   0   0
    May 13, 2011
    Northern IN
    I have been hunting since 2001 and have had much success with firearms and archery. But the forecast for Saturday is literally 000 wind for three hours early AM. I have never seen this before...what to do?

farmerdan

Sharpshooter
    Rating - 100%
    1   0   0
    Jan 31, 2009
    I'm pretty hard core about covering my scent the best I can. I keep my hunting gear in a scent lock duffel bag and I shower with earth scent soap. I put a couple earth scent wafers in the bag. I've taken a lot of deer and I believe getting caught moving is just as important. Not matter how bored you get just remember that a deer might be closer than you realize and they pick up on movement pretty easy. I go full camo and go the extra mile to keep my scent covered. Hope this helps and good luck and always stay safe. Dan

clfergus

Expert
    Rating - 100%
    49   0   0
    Mar 9, 2009
    Southeast Indy
    I wouldn't let it keep me out of the woods. I read an article once where they studied deer movement and kills over a 20 year period compared with the weather on each day. The study found that temp was the main factor in deer movement, followed by cloudy or clear sky and rain, with wind being the third factor. They actually found that the best movement was seen on cold/clear bright/windy days but too much wind would cause the deer to stay bedded down.

Looks like Saturday we will have the first two variables in place and with the movement I am seeing the Indiana hunters talk about on ArcheryTalk.com, it should be a great opening day.