• Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Oct 15, 2012
    Southern Indiana
    I am looking to purchase a 7mm Rem Mag and after looking for "the perfect rifle" for months i have finally narrowed the rifle down to these two options.. this is my first large caliber rifle so i am new to all of the specs. Does anybody have any suggestions or personal reviews of either? good and bad. I understand Browning vs. Remington can a lot of times be compared to the Chevy vs. Ford relationship so unbiased opinions would be great!
    Thank you in advance from southern Indiana!

giovani

Expert
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Feb 8, 2012
    I own an A bolt and a 700 rem I like both rifles , both are accurate , the only notable differences are my A bolt has an internal box magazine that can be unclipped from the swing down floor plate opposed to the 700 where you drop the floor plate and the loose rounds fall out.
    Makes it a little more handy to load and unload the A bolt.
    The A bolt's bolt unlocks in 60 degrees vs 90 for the 700, which makes for a faster second shot " in theory".
    The one thing I do like about the 60 deg bolt sweep is the bolt handle is not as close to the scope in the up position"helps with my fat fingers".
    They are both quality rifles ,in my humble opinion you won't go wrong with either one.

giovani

Expert
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Feb 8, 2012
    Only one downside to the browning I forgot, the wood is so nice I cringe every time I put a scratch in it.:):

Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Oct 15, 2012
    Southern Indiana