• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • cp009

Sharpshooter
    Rating - 75%
    6   2   0
    Jul 12, 2010
    NWI
    I'm fairly new to the knife game. I currently carry a SOG flash 2, but I'm looking to buy a new better quality auto knife for EDC/SD purposes.

What are your recommendations for a price point of >$200?

TIA

kawtech87

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    45   0   0
    Nov 17, 2011
    Martinsville
    Honestly for the sub $200 range your not gonna find many QUALITY autos.

Have you looked into Emerson knives? The wave is the fastest opening system in the industry, even faster than an auto. And it doesn't have any springs to wear out or break.

I hope to get my first Emerson soon. Just waiting for the money.

If you are dead set on an auto check out Protech. They have several models in your price range.

Last edited:

cp009

Sharpshooter
    Rating - 75%
    6   2   0
    Jul 12, 2010
    NWI
    I wouldn't say I'm dead set on an auto but I definitely want something of quality how about assisted folders or just standard folders for SD.

kawtech87

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    45   0   0
    Nov 17, 2011
    Martinsville
    Emerson. Just don't expect it to be pretty.

Protech makes an auto version of a couple different Emerson designs, and they are considerably nicer in appearance than a standard Emerson.

bingley

Master
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Jan 11, 2011
    Ask yourself: what can I do with a knife? Then decide accordingly. Some people's fighting techniques require a knife with a special geometry that makes it useless for pretty much anything else. What kind of training have you had? That ought to be enough to tell you what kind of self-defense knife you need.