• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Rymo

Plinker
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Oct 29, 2014
    Whiteland
    I am currently looking to purchase a Mosin but i am unsure of what to look for or what i should get. what are some recommendations and some places to maybe pick one out and what price range I am looking at.

I am fairly new to the shooting world and would like some helpful suggestions

Rocket

Expert
    Rating - 100%
    28   0   0
    Jun 7, 2011
    Whiteland
    Bradis usually has a good selection. Look at the bore, feel the action. Stocks varry in quality. Look to see if numbers match, not required but a plus. I have only had experience with the 91/30. Good gun lots of fun some are more accurate than others due to tightness of the bore. IE: I had one that was .312 and one that was .313. The .312 was better but they should be .310-.312. Price I do not know at moment. Bradis is fair in their pricing of them, so was Indy trading post. Probably others as well. Shop around. They are a heck of a rifle for less than $200.

Beorn

Plinker
    Rating - 100%
    1   0   0
    May 4, 2013
    Indianapolis
    As said above Bradis is a good place to check out Mosin 91/30s. They usually have a nice selection to browse through. They had around 20 different ones when I went to pick one out 4 months ago. Wear some clothes you won't mind getting greasy, because they are slathered in cosmoline from being stored. When you go in, ask if when they get a chance if there is someone who could help you pick out a Mosin 91/30. The guy that helped me(curse my terrible memory- I can't remember his name) was more than helpful. I ended up with a 1930 Tula Hex receiver in pre-war stock that is an excellent shooter. Good luck!

lmyer

Sharpshooter
    Rating - 100%
    4   0   0
    May 28, 2012
    South Bend