• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • phylodog

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    59   0   0
    Mar 7, 2008
    Arcadia
    I have a shower in my master bath and the tile walls are literally caving in. I'm relatively sure the builder used drywall rather than green or cement board. Next to the shower is a bathtub (regular size). My wife and I would like to remove the tub and turn that area into a large shower and once that is completed, remove the old shower, caps the pipes and turn that into a closet. The only issue I have is that there is a window above the current bathtub which would receive plenty of water if we turn that area into a shower.

Are there windows out there designed for this purpose? We don't want to give up the window because it's the only source of natural light in the room. I thought about trying to replace the window with glass blocks but I don't know if that is a good option for what is basically a shower wall?

Any educated input appreciated.

Kirk Freeman

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    11   0   0
    Mar 9, 2008
    Lafayette, Indiana
    Are you thinking of using a one-piece pre-fab shower stall unit?

I did that in the upstairs bath and it rocks for low care and mildew abatement; however, I lost the window. However, to me, the window is a hassle, maybe the next re-model.

Which is more important to you (by which I mean her), light or low maintenance? If you want a window and can live with the hassle of installation and water, then have you looked at those glass blocks with the vents in them?

Oh, you do have a fan in the bath too? Water is the enemy.

phylodog

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    59   0   0
    Mar 7, 2008
    Arcadia