• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Viper1973

Sharpshooter
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Feb 1, 2012
    Guys,

I'm totally new to 1911's and just purchased my first, a Kimber Tactical Custom II. (Be kind, I'm still learning :))

In an effort to become familiar with the platform I've been searching the various web forums. Unfortunately, some of what I've read about the aluminum-framed Kimber's comes from several years ago and is somewhat concerning.

Therefore I'm hoping that those of you more experienced can help me...

From what I've read, many 1911's are temperamental when it comes to hollow point ammunition and I may have to try a couple of kinds to find one that my particular firearm likes.

What concerns me more is that I've also read that some hollow point ammunition will seriously damage or gouge the feed ramp on those Kimber's that have the polished aluminum ramp made as part of the frame (which mine does).

Is this still a concern on current production Kimber's or was this a thing of the past?? And, if so, is there a hollow point that is 'safe' to use with these guns?

I'm planning on making the gun my primary carry mainly due to it's insane accuracy and would like to use hollow points.

Thoughts??

Any advice or recommendations are much appreciated.

Viper1973

Sharpshooter
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Feb 1, 2012
    Use what your owners manual recommends.

The manual included with my Kimber does not caution against using hollow points however the activity in several of the forums I visited indicates that there were (possibly still are) problems.

I'm just trying to cut through some of the urban legend type stuff and get to brass tax facts.

SERparacord

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    3   0   0
    Apr 16, 2012
    Amish Mafia Bar