• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • RdKing

Plinker
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Jan 17, 2013
    Batesville
    I'm new to handgun / rifle reloading and am looking for input on which powder scale to go with.
    I currently have an inexpensive beam scale that has seemed to work o.k. when I was using to check loads for my shotgun loading.
    Do I NEED a digital scale for better accuracy? How much should I be spending? I don't need the dispenser function, just want to check the loads that my Dillon is putting out for consistency / accuracy.

giovani

Expert
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Feb 8, 2012
    A good beam scale should be fine RCBS, Lyman 505 scales are good ones based on the old ohaus 505 scale.

Leo

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    30   0   0
    Mar 3, 2011
    Lafayette, IN
    +1 for the RCBS/ohaus bean scales.

Reasonably priced, accurate, long lasting, no warm up no batteries. I bought a couple of electronic scales that were ok, but only stayed working for a couple years. Each time, I went back to my RCBS balance.

sun

Marksman
    Rating - 100%
    8   0   0
    Aug 29, 2011
    Connecticut
    I like digital

I never owned a beam scale.
    But I bought a Lyman LE1000 electronic scale that works great.
    It will work with either a 9V battery or the supplied power cord.
    It has a 1000 grain/65 gram capacity plus or minus 0.1 grain.
    At under $50 used at a gun show it was a good deal and I figured that it would be less hassle than using a beam scale.

Here's info. about it:

http://www.midwayusa.com/product/630725/lyman-le-1000-electronic-scale-110-volt

Here's the similar Lyman LE1000 XP scale selling on eBay with bidding at $24.50 with 3 days left:

http://www.ebay.com/itm/Lyman-1000-XP-Digital-Electronic-Reloading-Scale-110v-/151032428503?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0&hash=item232a3bf7d7

Last edited:

OneBadV8

Stay Picky my Friends
    Site Supporter
    Rating - 100%
    53   0   0
    Aug 7, 2008