• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • wesnellans

Expert
    Rating - 100%
    78   0   0
    Oct 6, 2012
    Marshall County
    My wife and I have gotten back into firearms after a long hiatus. She's never had much experience with handguns, but I have, and it's been a bit of an experience. I can handle just about anything recoil-wise, and it just doesn't really bother me. However, upon handing her my Kahr CM9, we found out in a hurry that recoil DOES bother her, in a pretty big way. Admittedly, I know the CM9 is going to move around more than a full-size, but I thought a 9mm loaded with standard-pressure rounds wouldn't be too much for her. WRONG!

So, needing some help! I've got NO experience with the SR9 series, but looking at all the forums and reviews I can find, looks like they may be the ticket. However, I'm concerned not just with recoil, but also the strength of the recoil springs - she can't grip the CM9 and rack the slide AT all. So, given our two other Rugers in the household (10/22, SR22), I thought I'd look into something with some similar blood in it, as it were.

I know the SR9C has a dual-spring recoil spring setup like my Kahr. Is it any harder to rack than, say, the full-size SR9? Or is there a better choice available in a low-recoiling, easy to rack the slide, but still concealable 9mm? Any lady shooters out there, or anyone who is sharing their gun with one, who can help?

Thanks for all the forthcoming posts!!!

melensdad

Grandmaster
    Rating - 94.7%
    18   1   0
    Apr 2, 2008
    Far West Suburban Lowellabama
    Look for a CZ 75.

The CZ 75b is a full size all steel gun, recoil is mitigated by weight.
    The CZ 75c is a compact all steel gun, a bit smaller but still pretty heavy.
    The CZ 75d is a compact ALUMINUM frame gun with steel slide, a bit lighter than the 75c.

wolfman

Master
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    May 5, 2008
    S Side Indy