• esrice

Certified Regular Guy
    Rating - 100%
    20   0   0
    Jan 16, 2008
    Indy
    Ways to Better Afford Firearms Training
    by esrice

According to a 2011 INGO poll, 55% of respondents picked "Can't afford it" as their top reason for not taking firearms training classes.

https://www.indianagunowners.com/fo...t_you_take_any_firearms_training_classes.html

As someone who has enjoyed the many benefits of taking firearms training classes, I'd like to share some of my experience and give INGOers some ideas on ways they can afford it.

The Cost of Training

Training is expensive-- no bones about it. My goal here isn't to tell you that its not expensive, but rather to give you some ways to better afford it.

As an example, let's say I wanted to take a 3-day defensive pistol course from Training Company XYZ out in Arizona. Taking this class is going to require a big investment-- especially if I'm new to firearms in general.

$500 - Pistol
    $50 - Holster
    $25 - Mag pouch
    $40 - Gun belt
    $80 - Spare magazines
    $250 - 1k rounds of ammo

$600 - 3-day defensive pistol course
    $500 - Round-trip airfare
    $300 - Hotel for 3 nights

So, based on these very rough figures, that's a minimum investment of $2,345 to get you 3-days of professional training. :eek: And the price would continue to go up if you jumped to carbine or precision rifle training, or if you took a longer course farther away.

Now I can't really help you when it comes to that first category of expenses. Typically those are things we already have anyway. Its in the second category where you can really find some savings if you're smart about it.

Burning the Candle at Both Ends

There are two ways to better afford training-- 1) cut down on the cost of the training itself, and 2) find creative ways to save up for the training that's within your reach.

Cutting Training Costs