• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Jubbie

Sharpshooter
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Oct 17, 2008
    Northwest Indiana (slacker)
    Walking my dog and OC'ing like I do every day. All of a sudden a red pickup pulls over and the guy driving asks me if I'm an officer. I reply, "No." Then tells me to please cover my gun, it needs to be concealed. So I replied that I don't have to, the law in Indiana doesn't distinguish so I can carry how I want to. His response was to say that he was an officer and the law says I can't carry it openly, it has to be concealed. He sits there looking at me for 5 seconds before driving off. Gee, you'd think if I broke the law and he was a cop that he'd do more than just leave. I did get the license plate number. So once I get home after the walk I call the Hammond police station and ask about the carry law. I'm forwarded to an officer who tells me concealed is the only way, it's been that way for as long as he's had a permit. I try telling him it's a LTCH, but he continues to refer to it as a permit. I ask what law says it has to be concealed and he tells me I need to call the Indiana State Police in Indy for verification. Nobody answered at the firearm licensing #, so I'm gonna call back tomorrow when everyone is there. Since I knew the truck & license plate # I decided to see if the guy lives in my subdivision, c'mon if this guy claims to be a cop he better dang well be. This is where I started laughing. Found the truck parked in front of a police car on the side of the street, parked in front of the Chief of Police's house, Brian Miller. Apparantly the Highland Police Dept. hasn't gotten hold of the Hammond Police Dept (if you've read the thread about the Highland Meijer).

Figure I'm going to get state verification on the law, then go back to the Hammond police force to enlighten them as to the actual laws in Indiana. Just wanna make this as official as possible so it sinks in a little more.