• indygunguy

Expert
    Emeritus
    Rating - 100%
    110   0   0
    Dec 12, 2010
    NE Side of Indy
    MY NEW FORSTER CO-AX PRESS

I’ve been reloading for several years. I get just as excited about reloading equipment as I do actually making ammo. Since this will be a review of a single stage press, here is a list of the non-progressive presses I have owned: Lee single stage, Lee Turret, Lyman single stage, Lyman turret, RCBS Jr, RCBS Rock Chucker Supreme, Hornady LNL, and even a Ponsness Warren.

I’ve seen these Forster presses in catalogs for years, but I’ve never seen one in person, and I don’t know anyone who has ever used one. What I had read on Forster’s website led me to believe that the Co-Ax was a cut above the rest and had several interesting features, including:

· Snap in, snap out die changing
    · Three times the leverage of ordinary “C” presses
    · No shell holders required!
    · Dual floating guide rods for perfect alignment
    · Excellent spent primer catcher system
    · The press delivers perfect alignment of the die and the case because the shell holder jaws are designed to float with the die, thereby permitting the case to center precisely in the die

Sounds good, right? Well I couldn’t help myself any longer… I called Andrew at Profire (www.profiresupply.com) and had him order me one. Two days later I picked it up at his house, took it home, put the “do not disturb” sign on the basement door, and tore it open like a kid on Christmas morning. :rockwoot:

As with any single stage press, it was almost ready to go right out of the box. All I had to do was mount it on my bench with 4 screws, attach the handle, and attach the spent primer catcher. Easy.

picture.php

So I dragged out a bucket of 223 to resize.

First I had to insert a die.