• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • stchas

Marksman
    Rating - 100%
    18   0   0
    Feb 24, 2011
    Terrible Haute
    I'm surprised by the number of people who don't believe that raising the minimum wage won't cost people their jobs and/or raise prices. I'm a District Manager for a casual dining chain and the company has brainstormed the best places to cut employee hours and jobs to offset any increase. Also I'd bet a couple of bucks we weren't the only company to do so. They're in business to turn a profit and will do what's best (for them) to maximize that profit.

PRasko

Expert
    Rating - 100%
    6   0   0
    Dec 3, 2013
    Amish country
    8koXXEt.jpg

Think I've posted this before :):

Leadeye

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    4   0   0
    Jan 19, 2009
    I'm still up for the experiment, have california raise the minimum to $20 per hour for 5 years and then see what happens.

Lebowski

Master
    Rating - 100%
    5   0   0
    Jun 6, 2013
    Between corn and soybean fields.
    cigs already cost 14.50 in NY

Yikes. Minimum wage in NY is $8/hr... I'd have to give up smoking! (Although I have cut back to about 1/4th pack a day now... after quiting for two months... where before I smoked a pack a day.... baby steps to quitting.)

Then again, places like NY is so expensive to live that a lot of young people live at home with their parents anyway. A Rising Share of Young Adults Live in Their Parents? Home | Pew Research Center?s Social & Demographic Trends Project