• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • maxmayhem

Master
    Rating - 100%
    71   0   0
    Nov 16, 2010
    Ocala, FL (for now)
    I stumbled upon this today at a gun shop in Beverly Hills, FL.

Someone school me on these Enfield rifles.

wiwuv4.jpg

BE Mike

Grandmaster
    Site Supporter
    Rating - 100%
    18   0   0
    Jul 23, 2008
    New Albany
    I had an original, but had to sell it, many years ago. It had the rubber recoil pad. The one there doesn't look original to me, but I'm no expert. Is the caliber .303 British?

sgreen3

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    51   0   0
    Jan 19, 2011
    Scottsburg,In
    Ive never owned one personally, but have shot one that was chambered in 308. It was actually a pretty decent shooter. It was a ton of fun to shoot.

edporch

Master
    Site Supporter
    Rating - 100%
    25   0   0
    Oct 19, 2010
    Indianapolis

11B20

Plinker
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Mar 6, 2011
    I agree with the edporch that is not an authentic MK5 Jungle Carbine. That looks like a 2A cut down by a company called Gibbs rifle. It has the sights forward like the 2A. Gibbs rifle called them Mk7 jungle carbine and they are in 308. I own both an original and the Gibbs Rifle one. DSCF1454.jpg
    Here is a phot of my Enfield family. The Gibbs rifle is on the bottom.

DoggyDaddy

Grandmaster
    Site Supporter
    Rating - 100%
    73   0   1
    Aug 18, 2011
    Southside Indy
    I agree that it's not an original, but should still be a fun shooter.

I picked up an original a little over a year ago.

It should have this marking on the side:

And the rear sight should look like this:

Denny347

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    21   0   0
    Mar 18, 2008
    Napganistan
    I have an original, likely from the Malaysian Emergency as it looks like it spent time in the jungle.

An original will have lightening cuts on the receiver.

The relief cut just under the rear sight.