• View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Bfish

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    13   0   0
    Feb 24, 2013
    Hi guys, I am not new to hunting but I am new to the bow world.. This fall I have a bit more time and thought it would be great to spend it in the woods and maybe get a few more deer this year.

Here is my problem, I don't have a lot of money to dump into a bow and also don't know a whole lot about them. My second problem is I need a left handed bow, I think!

My neighbor has a Mathews SoloCam that is only a few years old he said he would give me for like 200 bucks. I am not sure of the model but I am certain he would not rip me off and I wont be receiving a poor quality bow. I am going to check it out tomorrow, however my problem now is that I am left eye dominant, I shoot long guns left handed and all even though I am a righty. For this reason I should shoot a bow left handed for sighting reasons through a peep sight correct? I thought I could shoot the bow and see how it feels, I have only ever shot a right handed bow but from what I am learning it greatly helps to shoot on your dominant eye side... I am going to talk to my neighbor about this concern in confidence he will steer me right but if you guys could give me some advice and guidance, possibly steering me in a good direction I would appreciate it.

Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Oct 15, 2012
    Southern Indiana
    You definately want to shoot a bow with your dominant eye. I've seen people shoot it reverse only while target practing but if your just getting into it then i would start off right. Check craigslist and other used avenues. For a couple hundred dollars you could be hunting Oct. 1st.

Bfish

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    13   0   0
    Feb 24, 2013