• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Colts Ironman

Sua Sponte, Rangers Lead the Way
    Rating - 100%
    23   0   0
    Aug 22, 2021
    NW Indianapolis
    I'm new to the optic world. Never really needed them but they have been fun to shoot with since. I've been reading up on various handgun optics and saw that the Sig RomeoZero reviewed somewhere that it was best for us old guys with diminishing eye sight, particularly astigmatism. Has anyone had experience with this one? The red dot itself doesn't impress me over holosun or trijicon and obviously not as durable. There's not a big selection of RMSc choices but if anyone cares to chime in on what they've had good experience with in the small red dot platform, please do.

I just recently started wearing progressive lenses and I’ve been avoiding wearing other types of eye protection at the range so I can get away with just wearing my glasses but these progressive lenses take a little getting used to. It’s not a very strong prescription and I have no problem seeing far away but it’s just that 3 to 4 feet of space between my eyes and the sights that get blurry. Sometimes I have to actually take my glasses down and look at the front sight or the optic with my natural eye. If can get away with not wearing my progresses with a good red dot optic it wouldn’t be as bad.

Thanks

Tryin'

Victimized
    Site Supporter
    Rating - 100%
    10   0   0
    Nov 18, 2009
    Hamilton County
    I share your astigmatism woes. I hate to bring this bad news, but in my experience it's not just make or even model, but individual sights have different looking dots to me. Some look like slashes, some like star bursts, some have a halo, and that's just the variety of Aimpoints on my squad. The armorer at my agency was kind enough to let me select the best option for my eyes out of the batch. Any illuminated sight I buy has to be in person due to the variability.