• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • colts93

Plinker
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Aug 3, 2013
    Noblesville
    Hello everyone, this is my first post on this forum. I am new to firearms and only own an old 22 lr that my grandpa handed down to me. I plan on getting a handgun in the near future, but i am not sure what to get. This week i am going to Family Indoor shooting in indy to rent several handguns to test out. If anyone has suggestions to what handgun they feel would be best to try i am open to anything. Thank you!

bingley

Master
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Jan 11, 2011
    Hey, you might want to do a search on this forum. Lots of people have asked your question, and the answers are already there.

Let me briefly summarize my recommendation -- you can probably find the longer version somewhere in a previous thread: take a class that lends you different guns to shoot, that allows you to do different defensive/competition drills. That's how you'll figure out which gun fits you. Before you know what you're going to do with the gun, it's hard to figure out what gun you need.

MMcarriesaSR9c

Plinker
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Feb 6, 2013
    You are on the right track going to the range and renting a few. This will help you determine what caliber and style you are more comfortable with. I myself like the 9MM as does my wife. I have a Springfield XDs 9MM and my wife has a Beretta Nano which we carry daily. You will receive lots of opinions here, but the ultimate decision is what is right for you. Enjoy your time at the range. On a side note, we go to the range in Beech Grove. It is a little further to drive, but well worth it.

Happy shooting..

eldirector

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    10   0   0
    Apr 29, 2009
    Brownsburg, IN
    What do you plan on using this first gun for? Target shooting? Plinking? Competition? Home Defense? Self defense (carry)?