• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Guitargallegos

Plinker
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    May 8, 2013
    Pendleton
    Alright guys school me on why or why not 9mm in an AR makes sense. I'm just starting out but am interested in trying to keep as many firearms in the same caliber. Unless that is really unwise...

strongcrow

Expert
    Rating - 100%
    25   0   0
    Apr 2, 2008
    Indy Central
    I love my 9mm AR. As I am able to shoot it so much more than my .223. I reload for 9mm, can shoot it in steel matches, and all the while I am training on the AR 15 platform. location isn't stated in your tag line, but I would be willing to get together and you could try out "little sexy".

223 Gunner

Master
    Rating - 100%
    203   0   0
    Jan 7, 2009
    Red Sector A
    I had a 9mm AR once, key word being had. Not a thing wrong with it, it was a Rock River Middy.
    The mags can be expensive, I bought it for a home defense weapon, at least that was the excuse I gave myself. Me personally I felt a 5.56 carbine was more versatile. If need be you could get out to a longer range with a 5.56 than a 9mm. That is why I sold mine.
    YMMV

zipper89

Plinker
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Jan 23, 2011
    Fort Wayne
    If I had to choose one rifle I'd get a AR. With 30+ uppers to choose from in almost any caliber.. I shot a 9mmar was fun and cheap to feed. Now I do wish someone could find a way to do a .308 on a 15 platform even if they do it like a BMG upper.

rvb

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    4   0   0
    Jan 14, 2009
    IN (a refugee from MD)