• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Inhuntr

Plinker
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Aug 5, 2016
    Clinton
    How well would a 25-06 perform deer hunting this year? I know it's a flat shoot round but how is recoil? To much for a 6-7 year old kid to handle? I have no experience at all with rifles other than my AR-15. Thank you

42769vette

Grandmaster
    Industry Partner
    Rating - 100%
    52   0   0
    Oct 6, 2008
    south of richmond in
    I volunteered as an instructor at a youth deer hunt last year running their sight in range. Before that day I thought youth season was the greatest idea anyone ever came up with. After that day, I was on the fence. Kids as young as 4 showed up with their 243, and kids as young as 6 showed up with a 308.

These kids developed a flinch that would no be easily cured, and by the end of the day were very unsure of this whole "gun thing". I suggested the 300 BLK to every single parent who's kid had to much gun, and they all told me how great their son/daughter does with the big caliber they already have. I had one parent tell me "my 5 yr old almost hit the paper plate with the 243 at 50 yds. That good for whitetail".