• View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Cherrythief

Plinker
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Mar 24, 2012
    Hey there! I have a Wilson combat extended thumb safety that I needed fitted for my Remington R1, and the file I have just won't do the job and I don't want to screw up the new part (if I haven't already!), so I'm looking for someone around northwest indiana that would be able to do it for me and quote me a price. Thanks!

Phone: 219-545-3578 text message preferred

email: nuke_the_trees@yahoo.com

88E30M50

Grandmaster
    Site Supporter
    Rating - 100%
    12   0   0
    Dec 29, 2008
    Greenwood, IN
    What type of trouble are you having in fitting it? When I've done them, I don't use a file, but a fine stone instead. It takes a while that way, but better too slow than too fast. Also, are you using layout dye like Dykem? It helps a lot in letting you see where you are getting contact.

Cherrythief

Plinker
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Mar 24, 2012
    The safety isn't engaging properly; it won't go into the safe position, but it will move partially up. I don't have any dye, either.

Mr Evilwrench

Quantum Mechanic
    Emeritus
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Aug 18, 2011
    Carmel
    Why do you want to use a thumb safety on a 1911? Just more to bother with. I guess maybe there's something to having it work as specified, but I want mine ready to go bang when I pull it out.

88E30M50

Grandmaster
    Site Supporter
    Rating - 100%
    12   0   0
    Dec 29, 2008
    Greenwood, IN
    In a pinch, you may be able to use a Sharpie in place of the layout dye if you want to keep trying. Unfortunately, I don't know who the good gunsmiths are up at your end of the state.

bwframe

Loneranger
    Site Supporter
    Rating - 100%
    95   0   0
    Feb 11, 2008
    Btown Rural